Picture this: a dazzling summer afternoon, a cricket field bathed in sunlight, and the collective heartbeat of nations racing with every swing of the bat. You’re probably watching the ICC World Cup. It is an engaging World Cup tournament that keeps people of all countries hooked. This also makes ODI World Cup Betting even more popular. 

This article will discuss the ICC World Cup history, looking back at the proud achievements of cricketing nations on the grandest stage.

A Journey to the Past


1975, the inaugural Cricket World Cup took place, with the West Indies emerging as champions after defeating Australia. 

The final, held at Lord’s in London, saw Australia losing by 17 runs. West Indies played with a red ball for 60 overs per side and had a strong journey, winning all three group-stage games, including a successful semi-final against New Zealand. 

West Indies’ captain, Clive Lloyd, scored a century during the final match.


The West Indies defended their title in 1979 against England at Lord’s. Viv Richards played a fantastic unbeaten inning of 138 runs, setting a target of 287 for England. 

Joel Garner bowled brilliantly, taking five wickets for just 38 runs, and England was all out for 194.


In 1983, India won their first-ever World Cup. Their final match was against West Indies at Lord’s London. 

Mohinder Amarnath was the hero, taking three important wickets for just 12 runs, and the West Indies were bowled out for 140, trying to chase 184.


India and Pakistan hosted the 1987 World Cup. This time, Australia won their first title. Even though India and Pakistan topped their groups, Australia and England made it to the final. 

David Boon scored 75 runs for Australia, and they set a target of 253. England couldn’t reach it, making Australia the champions.


Pakistan won their first World Cup, led by captain Imran Khan, who scored 72 runs in the final against England. 

It was the first World Cup with colorful clothing, and Wasim Akram’s crucial wickets turned the tide in Pakistan’s favor.


Sri Lanka hosted and won the World Cup, defeating Australia in the final. 

Despite losing star players Sanath Jayasuriya and Romesh Kaluwitharana early, Aravinda de Silva’s unbeaten 107 led them to victory as they chased Australia’s 241 with 3.4 overs to spare.


Australia secured their second World Cup title, defeating Pakistan in the final thanks to Shane Warne’s four wickets for 33 runs. 

They overcame some challenges in the tournament and won comfortably by eight wickets.


Australia retained their title in South Africa, with Ricky Ponting’s unbeaten 140 setting a formidable target of 360 for India in the final. 

Despite Virender Sehwag’s valiant 82, Australia’s dominance continued with a comprehensive victory.


Australia completed a historic hat-trick of victories with their third consecutive title in the West Indies. The tournament featured a new 16-team format, and Australia breezed through their groups, winning all seven Super Eight stage matches. 

They secured victory in the final against Sri Lanka. The main highlight of this match was Adam Gilchrist scoring 149 runs.


India hosted the World Cup in 2011 and became the second host nation to win. Their semi-finals were with the Pakistan. 

In the final match against Sri Lanka, the stellar performances of Gautam Gambhir and M.S. Dhoni saved the team.


In another co-host final, Australia reclaimed the crown by beating New Zealand at the MCG. New Zealand had shone in the group stage, including a thrilling one-wicket victory over Australia. 

However, in the final, Australia’s Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner took three wickets each, helping their team chase a target of 184 with half-centuries from Steve Smith and Michael Clarke.


The 2019 final was heart-pounding, with England winning their first title. They edged New Zealand on boundary countback after the 50 overs, and a Super Over ended in a tie. 

Both teams lost three games in the group stage but fought to the final. England secured victory most dramatically, ensuring a new champion would be crowned at Lord’s.


Knowing the ICC Cricket World Cup history is essential to place bets on this year’s tournament. Also, apart from reading this brief history, check out the team and player stats to stay well-prepared to place winning bets.